Special Vuvu Hosts

Vuvu is a small remote village on top of a mountain near Lehana’s Pass or Naude’s Nek. During the Freedom Challenge the people of Vuvu open their homes to the riders and vacate either rondavels or rooms and beds to host us.

My hostess tonight is a young mother with a 2 year old daughter. They are sleeping in the other of the 2 rooms, my bed is neatly turned with more blankets than I can count, its an oven. I can smell the bed has been scented, they have put the best foot forward.

I asked where the toilet was in case of a midnight emergency. The hostess and her sister looked at one another before they responded. I had two options, the long drop in the veld 50 m away behind a barbed fence or the empty bucket in the corner of the room. They were prepared to service a used bucket rather than have me walk 50 m to the long drop in the dark cold night. I could never.

These are special people. Its moments like this that will stay with me forever.

20140616-205218.jpg

Leave a Reply

