ALPE D’HUEZ

Today 25 July 2015 the Tour de France goes up the legendary Alpe d’Huez, 13.8km, 1100m ascent to the top. The 21 hairpins are numbered in reverse and each one has a plaque of a previous Alp d’Huez winner on the corner.

In 2006 I had the privilege of riding up Alp d’Huez to see Frank Schleck take the win in a sprint from Damiano Cunego. I wore my special T-Mobile shirt Anya Gous), rode my red 26″ Specialized Epic up the climb and positioned myself at the T-Mobile corner (#2). It was the year that Floyd Landis broke my heart. Since my childhood I had dreamed of riding up Alp d’Huez and to this day I can still see the sights and hear the sounds when I close my eyes.

I will never forget this day.

1005188_10151701858547856_962762607_n

Leave a Reply

