Should we all have weekend homes in Sabie?

Sabie remains a superb mountain biking destination. Why we don’t all have weekend homes in Sabie is beyond me. I went for a “quick” 5 hour spin this morning and these were the highlights:
– I went to inspect all the viewpoints in the mountain and am delighted to report back to you, future Sabie visitors, that they are all in perfect working order.
– I took the mamba route 3.6km 407m ascent over rocky jeep track, its a nasty by any measure. I rode strong, I pushed fast & crawled in style, I even perspired.

The Mamba Climb awaits. 400m over 3.7km

The Mamba Climb awaits. 400m over 3.7km

Top of the Mamba looking down to the bottom of the climb.

Top of the Mamba looking down to the bottom of the climb.

– Hartbeesvlakte on top will be unknown to most but its like the Serengeti on top of a very high mountain with large herds of antelope, really large herds!

Large herds of Hartbees on Hartebeesvlakte. Never seen herds this big.

Large herds of Hartbees on Hartebeesvlakte. Never seen herds this big.

– I think I hit 1000m ascent at around 25km, but my vision was rather blurred from sweat & steamed up Rudies.
– I’m rather accomplished at navigation so was very surprised when a forrest road high up on the ridge came to an abrupt end. Turns out I missed a turn despite having my Garmin right in front of me. In hindsight I may have been distracted by the stunning views and I may have seen another climb & just assumed I had to go up it. School boy error but it gave me a story to tell.
– I tried to work out how to get down from so high to Sabie in the bottom in a short space if time, the answer came in the form of a steep switch back descent. It feels like one drops down forever but eventually gravity runs out and by that time my wide smile was etched as firm as my helmet hair.
– What a beautiful place this is and what rewarding riding. Great memories. Blessed.
– Now, remind me again, why don’t we all have weekend homes in Sabie.

Natural bush tunnels leading the way down to Tweefontein on the steep switch backs.

Natural bush tunnels leading the way down to Tweefontein on the steep switch backs.

Breathtaking views from the top of Sabie mountains.

Breathtaking views from the top of Sabie mountains.

Leave a Reply

