Appreciation

I wrote this in June 2014 and it still holds true …

“Family. Adventure is selfish full stop. It takes a very special family to allow one the freedom to pursue our dreams. I have such a family.”

I am told that in 2014 my daughter got a little bit nervous when my tracker dot went missing or stood still for too long and then called “mother” Meryl at the Race Office who knows where everyone is to the nearest meter. I have been riding my bicycle alone for many years in remote places and not being the nervous type, didn’t really think others would be very worried about me either. Then at X-Berg in 2015 my wife and same daughter dropped me in the middle of the night and watched me ride off into the pitch dark Drakensberg. Again I heard afterwards how they shed a quiet tear.

I find myself being irritated with myself in the run up to Race to Rhodes 2016, I am cautious of this race, I know what challenges the trail and the weather hold, my preparation has not been ideal and my nerves are showing. My life the past month has evolved around this race and when my mouth opens its all I talk about. How my family and friends live with this is a testimony to their support, patience and tolerance.

It seems they do care after all about what I do and about my personal and selfish endeavors and despite their own concerns and emotions, are still prepared to give me the space to enjoy this privilege. It makes my appreciation for being allowed to embark on these journeys so much bigger. My 2014 quote is as relevant as ever.

“Family. Adventure is selfish full stop. It takes a very special family to allow one the freedom to pursue our dreams. I have such a family.”

Leave a Reply

